## TOWN COUNCIL MEETING November 19, 2018

## I. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

The Clerk called the special meeting of the Jamestown Town Council to order at 6:35 p.m. in the Jamestown Town Hall Rosamond A. Tefft Council Chambers at 93 Narragansett Avenue.

Newly-elected Town Council Members present:

Michael G. White Mary E. Meagher Nancy A. Beye Randall White William J. Piva, Jr.

Newly-elected School Committee members present: Sheila M. Reilly Kristine A. Lapierre Keith J. Roberts

Newly-elected Town Moderator present: John A. Murphy

Also present:

Andrew E. Nota, Town Administrator Edward A. Mello, Police Chief Christina D. Collins, Finance Director Lisa W. Bryer, Town Planner James R. Bryer, Jr., Fire Chief Andrew J. Wade, Parks and Recreation Director Fred Pease, Town Sergeant Jean Lambert, GIS Coordinator Kenneth A. Duva, School Superintendent Peter D. Ruggiero, Town Solicitor Cheryl A. Fernstrom, Town Clerk

# II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Clerk led the Pledge of Allegiance.

## III. ADMINISTRATION OF THE OATH OF OFFICE TO NEWLY ELECTED TOWN COUNCIL MEMBERS, SCHOOL COMMITTEE MEMBERS, AND TOWN MODERATOR: Honorable Francis J. Darigan, Jr.

Judge Darigan congratulated the newly-elected officials for Town and State offices, and I am honored to be a part of this evening's ceremony. Judge Darigan thanked the Council, School Committee, and Town Moderator for their services and stated I am glad that we have such a warm and welcoming community and good people who are interested in serving others here in Jamestown. Judge Darigan thanked all those who ran for office for doing so and keeping this democracy strong by their participation.

Judge Darigan called the Town Council-elect to come forward to be sworn in.

- 1) Town Council:
  - 1) Michael G. White
  - 2) Mary E. Meagher
  - 3) Nancy A. Beye
  - 4) Randall White
  - 5) William J. Piva, Jr.

The Oath of Office was administered to the newly-elected Town Council Members by Judge Darigan. Certificates were also presented. [Applause]

Judge Darigan called the School Committee-elect to come forward to be sworn in.

- B) School Committee:
  - 1) Sheila M. Reilly
  - 2) Kristine A. Lapierre
  - 3) Keith J. Roberts

The Oath of Office was administered to the newly-elected School Committee Members by Judge Darigan. Certificates were also presented. [Applause]

Judge Darigan called the Town Moderator-elect to come forward to be sworn in.

- C) Town Moderator
  - 1) John A. Murphy

The Oath of Office was administered to the newly-elected Town Moderator by Judge Darigan. A Certificate was also presented. [Applause]

## IV. NOMINATION AND SELECTION OF TOWN COUNCIL PRESIDENT AND VICE PRESIDENT

The Clerk called for nominations for Town Council President.

A motion was made by Councilor Meagher with second by Councilor Piva to nominate Michael White for Town Council President.

Discussion. Councilor Meagher noted Mike White was the highest vote getter, but that is not a requirement for the job. His victory is testimony to why Mike is suited for this role. Mike's affability and equanimity are well known and those are very good traits to have on the Town Council, but he is also a principled man who understands government's role in helping the lives of those it serves. Mike has sacrificed mightily in the service of his country, but that sacrifice hasn't stopped him from continuing to serve the community he has lived in for nearly thirty years. As good natured as Mike is, he is not afraid to speak his mind when he finds it necessary to critique ideas and their presentation when he finds them not serving the best interests of our citizens. I can tell you personally that when he offers his support, it is not a hollow proposition of words but the real thing, a considered judgement that can bolster a cause or your spirits. We have disagreed at times but after disagreeing, Mike goes right on being the same friendly, good guy he was before, and always will be. And so I nominate Michael White to be Council President.

# Back to the vote on the motion. Councilor Meagher, Aye; Councilor Beye, Aye; Councilor R. White, Aye; Councilor Piva, Aye; Councilor M. White, Aye. [Applause]

The meeting was turned over to President White by the Clerk. President White stated the next order of business is to elect a Vice President.

## A motion was made by Councilor R. White with second by Councilor Beye to nominate Mary Meagher for Town Council Vice President.

Discussion. Councilor Randall White stated Mary has served on the Council for the last three terms, serving as Vice President in the 2012 and 2014 terms. She has been an able and distinguished Vice President and Member, and also served on the Council in the 90's. It is a true honor as my first official act to place into nomination Mary Meagher for Vice President.

Back to the vote on the motion. **President White, Aye; Councilor Beye, Aye; Councilor R. White, Aye; Councilor Piva, Aye; Councilor Meagher, Aye.** [Applause]

#### V. **INTRODUCTION OF DISTINGUISHED GUESTS**

President White thanked Judge Darigan for presiding this evening and acknowledged Representative Deb Ruggiero of District 74 and the House of Representatives Citations for outgoing Council members, Senator Dawn Euer of District 13, Attorney General-elect Peter Neronha, outgoing Council members, and Democratic Town Committee Chair Anne Livingston. President White also thanked Town staff members School Superintendent Ken Duva, Police Chief Ed Mello, Town Sergeant Fred Pease, Parks and Recreation Director Andy Wade, Finance Director Christina Collins, Town Planner Lisa Bryer, Fire Chief Jim Bryer, Public Works Director Mike Gray, GIS Coordinator Jean Lambert, Senior Programs Coordinator Betsey Anderson, Board of Canvassers Chair Carol Nelson-Lee, Town Administrator Andy Nota, and Town Solicitor Peter Ruggiero. Thank you so much for attending. [Applause] Town Council Meeting 11-19-2018

## VI. NEW BUSINESS

### A) Licenses and Permits

All approvals for licenses and permits are subject to the resolution of debts, taxes and appropriate signatures as well as, when applicable, proof of insurance.

- 1) Victualing License Renewal; review, discussion and/or potential action and/or vote
  - a) Ace's Pizza, Inc. dba: Ace's Pizza 1 Clarke Street

A motion was made by Vice President Meagher with second by Councilor White to approve the Victualing License renewal for Ace's Pizza. President White, Aye; Vice President Meagher, Aye; Councilor Beye, Aye; Councilor White, Aye; Councilor Piva, Aye.

## VII. ADJOURNMENT

## A motion was made by Vice President Meagher with second by Councilor Piva son to adjourn the meeting. President White, Aye; Vice President Meagher, Aye; Councilor Beye, Aye; Councilor White, Aye; Councilor Piva, Aye.

The special meeting was adjourned at 6:48 p.m. President White invited all in attendance to join the Reception. [Applause]

# X. RECEPTION: The newly-elected Town Officials will adjourn for pictures, congratulations and refreshments (in the Town Council Chambers)

Attest:

Cheryl A. Fernstrom, CMC, Town Clerk

Copies to: Town Council Town Administrator Finance Director Town Solicitor