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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

RULE 1

RULE 2

RULE 3

RULE 4

RULE 5

FISH AND WILDLIFE

R.1. Hunting Regulations
for the 2014 — 2015 Season

PURPOSE

The purpose of these Rules and Regulations is to establish hunting season;
to set the possession and bag limits; and to regulate the manner of hunting
in order to efficiently manage the wildlife resources of Rhode Island.

AUTHORITY

These Rules and Regulations are promulgated pursuant to RIGL Chapters
42-17.1; 20-15 and 20-18, and Sections 20-1-2; 20-1-4; 20-1-8; 20-1-12;
and 20-1-13 and in accordance with Chapter 42-35, Administrative
Procedures Act of the Rhode Island General Laws of 1956, as amended.

APPLICATION

The terms and provisions of these Rules and Regulations shall be liberally
constructed to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes of state
law, goals, and policies.

SEVERABILITY

If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or application thereof to
any person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent
jurisdiction, the validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations
shall not be affected thereby.

SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS

On the effective date of these Rules and Regulations, all previous Rules
and Regulations, and any policies regarding the administration and
enforcement of Hunting Regulations shall be superseded. However, any
enforcement action taken by, or application submitted to, the Department
prior to the effective date of these Rules and Regulations shall be
governed by the Rules and Regulations in effect at the time the
enforcement action was taken, or application filed.
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RULE 6

DEFINITIONS

For the purposes of these regulations, the following terms shall have the
following meanings:

Antlerless deer — deer having no antlers or antlers less than three (3)
inches in length.

Bearded turkey — a turkey that carries a visible beard, i.e., a tuft of stiff
filament-like feathers projecting outward and downward from the center
of the chest.

Box trap — any trigger operated device intended to restrain an animal by
confinement in box or cage.

Conibear-type trap — “conibear” model traps and similar body-gripping
traps and devices, whether or not enclosed in or comprising part of a box,
tube or other enclosing device.

Crossbow — a bow and string that launches an arrow, mounted upon a
stock, with a trigger unit that holds the string and limbs under tension until
released. The trigger unit must have a working safety. The minimum
crossbow, arrow, and blade restrictions are further described in Part 1 of
these regulations.

Daylight fluorescent orange — the color orange having a dominant wave
length between 595 and 606 nanometers, an excitation purity not less than
85 percent, and a lamination factor not less than 40 percent.

Deer — Virginia white-tailed deer (Odocoileus virginianus) and any other
free ranging deer encountered in the natural environment.

Deer decoy — Device that replicates the body and form of a deer and may
be used for the purpose of attracting deer during hunting.

Driving deer/cooperative drive — to pursue, drive, chase, or otherwise
frighten or cause a deer to move in a direction toward a person or persons
known to be waiting for deer.

Earn-A-Buck Provision — Requires harvest of one antlerless deer prior
to the harvest of an antlered deer in a permitted management zone or
hunting method.

Feeding/baiting — the act of using, placing, giving, exposing, depositing,
distributing, or scattering any material, or any act to maintain the
availability of such material, that attracts wildlife to feed on such material.
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Foothold — the nomenclature for a foothold trap is equivalent to that of
leg-hold trap, as described in RIGL 20-16-8, including those foothold
traps with padded jaws.

Jack-lighting — the use (by an individual or in conjunction with others) of
an artificial light at any time to illuminate, jack light, locate, attempt to
locate, or show up wild birds or mammals or any other vertebrates when
that person or persons have in their actual possession, in the passenger
compartment of their vehicle, or in the storage area of a trunk or van,
unless locked in a case, a crossbow, long bow (straight limb, reflex, re-
curve, or compound bow) rifle, gun, or pistol, except in accordance with
these rules and regulations.

Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island — all of Aquidneck
Island with the exception of the city of Newport.

Junior Hunter — a person 12-14 years of age who has completed a basic
hunter safety course shall hunt only in the immediate company of a
qualified licensed adult, 21 years of age or older.

Paraplegic — an individual afflicted with paralysis of the lower half of the
body with involvement of both legs.

Replacement tags — free replacement tags for deer are issued only by
DEM’s Division of Licensing after a hunter harvesting required antlerless
deer as specified by zone management harvest regulations and upon the
hunter providing evidence (checked field tags) of having checked the
required antlerless deer.

Small game season — that period of time beginning the third Saturday in
October and ending the last day in February annually (not withstanding
the regulated shotgun season for deer).

Species specific traps — characterized by all of the following: triggering
and restraining mechanisms are enclosed within housing; triggering and
restraining mechanisms are only accessible through a single opening when
set; the access opening does not exceed 2 inches in diameter; the
triggering mechanism can only be activated by a pulling force; has a
swivel mounted anchoring system.

Translocation — means the transport and release of live wild animals from
one location to another.

Written permission — means annual written permission of the owner of
the land for any current deer season.
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RULE 7 - REGULATIONS
PART I
DEER HUNTING

1.1 A deer permit must be obtained prior to hunting for each individual deer taken in
accordance with the bag limits for each season type, statewide.

1.2 Open Season (all dates inclusive)

1.2.1 Archery: September 15 to January 31

1.2.2 Muzzleloader: November 8 to November 30

1.2.2.1 September 27 to October 2, Zone 1, Antlerless Deer only.

1.2.2.2 December 26 to January 2, Zones 1 and 2, Antlerless deer only.
1.2.3 Shotgun: December 6 to December 21 and

1.2.3.1 December 26 to January 2, Zones 1 and 2, Antlerless Deer only

1.2.4 Prudence Island: September 15 to January 31

1.2.4.1 Paraplegic hunter season October 7 - 10

1.2.5 Block Island:

1.2.5.1 Archery: September 15 to February 28, inclusive of weekends and
Holidays

1.2.5.2 Shotgun and Muzzleloader:
November 3, 5, 6,7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 24,
25
December 1, 2, 3,4, 5,8,9, 10, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18, 19

January 2,5,6,7,8,9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 20, 21, 22, 23,
26, 27, 28, 29, 30

February 2, 3,4,5,6,9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 23,
24,25, 26,27
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1.3 Season Limit:

1.3.1 Two (2) antlered deer. No hunter shall take more than two (2) antlered
deer in total during the deer season. Only one (1) of the antlered deer may
be taken in Zone 3 (Prudence Island).

1.3.2 Antlerless deer bag limit is by Deer Management Zone

1.3.2.1 Zone 1 (Mainland Private and State Land): Four (4) Antlerless
Deer

1.3.2.1.1 Hunters are eligible for one (1) free Replacement Tag
for an additional Antlerless deer upon presenting to
DEM proof of harvesting two antlerless deer in Zone 1.
The replacement tag is in addition to the general
antlerless bag limit allowed for Zone 1 and restricted
for use in this zone.

1.3.2.2 Zone 2 (Mainland Private and State Land): Three (3) Antlerless
Deer

1.3.2.3 Zone 3 (Prudence — Patience Islands Private and State Land): Two
(2) Antlerless Deer

1.3.2.3.1 The bag limit of antlered deer in Zone 3 is one (1) per
season, included in the statewide season limit of two (2)
antlered deer statewide.

1.3.2.4 Zone 4 (Block Island Private Land Only): Five (5) Antlerless deer,
except as provided in 1.16.2.

1.4 Legal hours for hunting deer are one half hour before sunrise to one half hour
after sunset. All deer must be tagged in a conspicuous manner by the hunter
killing same, immediately after taking, with the tag portion of the deer permit for
the specific season (archery, muzzleloader, shotgun and/or paraplegic/double
amputee hunter). This tag must be separated from the permit with the appropriate
month, day, or other information completed as required, and signed by the hunter.
The tag must remain attached to the deer until the animal is processed for
consumption or prepared for taxidermy. It will be considered prima-facie
evidence of hunting without a valid deer permit if any portion of the deer
permit/tag is altered in any manner.

1.5 Prohibited Activities:

1.5.1 Hunting, pursuing, or molesting deer below mean high tidal water, or
while deer are swimming in any waters of the state is prohibited.
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1.5.2 The construction and/or use of permanent tree stands, or the use of nails,
spikes, bolts, or climbing devices which may damage trees, is prohibited
on state property or on private property without the permission of the
landowner. All portable tree stands must be removed on state lands by the
end of deer season.

1.5.3 The use of electronic deer calls is prohibited at all times.

1.5.4 The use of decoys to attract deer is prohibited with the exception that such
devices are permitted on Private lands and only during the early archery
season (September 15 until September 30). On private land in towns
where hunting with a firearm is prohibited but use of archery equipment is
allowed deer decoys maybe used September 15 — January 31. When
transporting deer decoys for the purpose of hunting, persons must wear
500 square inches of fluorescent orange visible from all sides as is
currently required for shotgun deer hunting.

1.5.5 Driving deer by parties of over five (5) people is prohibited.

1.5.6  Only one firearm or bow may be possessed in the field per individual
hunter, while hunting deer.

1.5.7 During the period September 15 through the last day of February
(statewide and islands), casting of rays of artificial lights, including
spotlights, headlights, or other artificial light, at any time, on any highway
or roadway, whether public or private or on any field, woodland,
residential property or forest, on any building or farm animal, for the
purpose of spotting, locating or attempting to spot or locate any wild
animal or wild bird is prohibited.

1.5.7.1 The use or possession of laser sights that project a beam or night —
vision equipment while hunting is prohibited.

1.6  Annual written permission is required to hunt deer on privately owned land
(RIGL 20-15-1 [4]). Such written permission must be carried at all times while
deer hunting and failure to have such written permission is prima-facie evidence
of not having written permission to hunt such land. Written permission must be
shown to any authorized person upon demand, and must be presented when
checking the deer.

1.7  The use of natural or artificial scents, mouth or hand powered deer calls to attract
deer, is permitted.

Hunting Regulations for the 2014 - 2015 Season 8 of 42



1.8 The Division retains the right to sample any and all tissues for population and
disease management.

1.9 Resident All Qutdoors Package Permit: Deer hunters may purchase one (1)
resident All Outdoors Package Permit for the mainland deer seasons to take up to
8 deer during the established seasons. This package permit will only be available
at DEM, RI Division of Licensing, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908.
This may be purchased by mail with a SASE or in person.

1.9.1 A limit of 350 permit packages will be sold on a first come first serve
basis. Permits may be purchased in person or through the mail. Due to
high volume, permits sold over the counter may be returned by mail.

1.9.2 The All Outdoor Hunting Package consists of two (2) Antlered deer
permits and six (6) Antlerless deer permits that may be used in any
combination statewide during the Open Season.

1.10  Deer Management Zones are defined to recognize and achieve harvest and
management strategies for deer in Rhode Island as follows (Figure 1):
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1.11  Checking and Tagging: All deer harvested must be conspicuously tagged by the
hunter immediately after killing or taking as provided, and reported to DEM
within 24 hours by mailing a Pre-Paid Deer Season Kill Report Card. Except that,
during the first four (4) days of the Muzzleloader deer season, November 8§ thru
11, all deer harvested statewide, by any method, must be brought to a State
Operated Biological Checking Station to be physically weighed, measured and
inspected with the exception of Block Island. During the remainder of the season,

deer must be checked by mailing within 24 hours the Deer Season Kill Report
Card or by an Environmental Police Officer (EPO).

1.12  Archery Season:

1.12.1 Archers may use a long bow, re-curve bow, compound bow or crossbow
for hunting deer.

1.12.1.1 Long bow, re-curve bow and compound bow must meet be
capable of not less than forty (40) pounds at peak draw weight
for archers using fixed blade broadheads, and a minimum of fifty
(50) pounds for archers using a mechanical broadhead. Only
broadhead tipped arrows with at least two (2) metal cutting edges
are allowed. All broadheads must be 7/8 of an inch or greater at
the widest point. Mechanical heads are measured in the “open”
position and must be a minimum of 7/8 of an inch. Licensed
deer hunters may carry one blunt or judo tipped arrow to hunt the
open portion of the small game season during the archery deer
season.

1.12.1.2 Crossbows meeting the following minimum criteria are permitted
for hunting deer: minimum draw of 125 pounds. Expandable
broadheads are permitted. However, as some crossbow
manufacturers specifically recommend against mechanical
broadheads, nothing in this section should be construed as
permitting such use. One (1) field point arrow may be carried in
the quiver for the safe discharge of the crossbow; the field point
arrow must be made distinguishable from the crossbow arrow by
a color difference. All hunters must have taken and successfully
completed bow hunter education classes to hunt with a crossbow.

1.12.1.3 Special archery adaptive aids for use with vertical held bows
may be used may be used by all hunters without a special permit.
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1.13 Muzzleloader Season:

1.13.1 Firearms for muzzleloader deer season are limited to .45 caliber or larger
using percussion caplock, flintlock, and in-line ignition systems using
percussion caps, rifle, or shotshell primers. Only single barrel or double
barrel firearms that must be loaded from the muzzle are allowed.

1.13.2 Ammunition for muzzleloader deer season is limited to a single projectile,
including round ball, or maxi ball type projectiles. Sabot rounds for
muzzleloader firearms are permitted using lead, jacketed or solid copper
bullets according to manufacturer’s specifications. Powder is limited to
manufacturers’ specifications. Telescopic sights are permitted. Possession
of modern shotgun shotshells while hunting is prohibited. A muzzleloader
is considered unloaded when the percussion cap, primer or pan powder is
removed.

1.14 Shotgun Season:

1.14.1 No person shall hunt, pursue, shoot or attempt to shoot any deer with a
shotgun capable of holding more than five shells, unless it is plugged with
one-piece filler, which is incapable of removal without disassembling the

gun.

1.14.2 Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season is limited to a single lead
or alloy projectile, including rifled slugs or sabot round. Buckshot is
prohibited at all times.

1.14.3 Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20-gauge are allowed.

1.14.4 Muzzleloader firearms will be permitted during the shotgun season
provided hunters possess a current shotgun deer permit and comply with
muzzleloader restrictions. Hunters taking a deer must tag the deer with
the shotgun deer tag immediately after taking. All shotgun deer season
fluorescent orange requirements will be enforced.

1.15 Prudence — Patience Island (Zone 3):

1.15.1 The only legal method of deer hunting on Prudence and Patience Islands is
by archery, including crossbows. All other archery regulations apply.
Exemption: hunters complying with section for paraplegic and double
amputees may use shotguns.
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1.15.2 While archery deer hunting, no possession of firearms is permitted, except
for those licensed to participate during the special paraplegic hunter deer
season.

1.15.3 Archery deer hunting will be permitted on the Heritage Property,
December 1-15.

1.15.4 Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters hunting deer on
Patience and Prudence Islands, either private or state-owned lands. The
proficiency card is valid for two years from the date of issue and must be
carried while hunting.

1.15.5 Written permission of the private landowner is required and must be
countersigned by the Chief of Police or his/her representative on Prudence
Island.

1.15.6 On Patience Island, there shall be no hunting of any species of wildlife,
except archery hunting for deer, as provided. The possession of any
firearm at any time on Patience Island, except for archery equipment as
prescribed during the established archery season for deer, is prima-facie
evidence of illegal hunting.

1.16 Block Island (Zone 4)

1.16.1 State Land (Black Rock / Rodman Hollow) Hunting by special permit
only, selected by lottery.

1.16.1.1 Hunters selected will be assigned to hunt one of four periods
designated by DEM.

1.16.1.2 Six (6) hunters will be permitted per hunting period.

1.16.1.3 DEM will assign hunters selected by lottery at their sole
discretion.

1.16.1.4 Applications (available at www.dem.ri.gov) to hunt state lands
must be postmarked by August 15.

1.16.2 A Block Island archery, muzzleloader or shotgun deer permit is required
to hunt deer on Block Island. A hunter may purchase up to ten (10) Block
Island deer permits. After checking as required, a hunter may purchase
additional Block Island archery, muzzleloader or shotgun deer permits to
take additional deer on Block Island. Hunters may not possess more than
ten (10) Deer Permits at one time. (Eight (8) Antlerless and two (2)
Antlered)
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1.16.3 Private landowner permission, counter-signed by the Chief of Police, is
required for all hunting. Private landowners may give permission for
archery, shotgun, or muzzleloader hunting on their property. Permission
will be tracked by the Police Department.

1.16.4 Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season includes rifled slugs or
sabot round. Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20 gauges are allowed. Buckshot
is prohibited.

1.16.5 Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters that are hunting deer
on Block Island. The proficiency card is valid for two (2) years from the
date of issue. The proficiency card must be carried while hunting.

1.16.6 All other deer season regulations apply. Equipment permitted for archery
season includes crossbows and adaptive aids as described.

1.16.7 All deer hunters must wear 500 square inches of fluorescent orange,
except archery hunters during the archery only portion of the season are
exempt from this requirement.
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2.1

2.2

PART 11
SPECIAL DEER SEASONS

Junior Archery Hunting Weekends (Zone 1 and 2): September 6 and 7, for
those junior hunters (ages 12-14) in possession of a valid Rhode Island Junior
Hunting License. Junior hunters must be accompanied by at least one qualified
license adult who is at least 21 years of age or older and holds a valid Rhode
Island hunting/archery license. An adult may accompany no more than two junior
hunters at one time. Adults are prohibited from carrying bows. Junior hunters may
use Antlered Deer or Antlerless Archery Deer Permits as provided.

2.1.1 Prudence-Patience Islands (Zone 3) Junior Hunter Archery Weekend
October 11 and 12 for those junior hunters (ages 12-14) in possession of a
valid Rhode Island Junior Hunting License. Junior hunters must be
accompanied by at least one (1) qualified license adult who is at least 21
years of age or older and holds a valid Rhode Island hunting/archery
license. An adult may accompany no more than two (2) junior hunters at
one time. Adults are prohibited from carrying bows. Junior hunters may
use Antlered or Antlerless Archery Deer Permit as provided.

Prudence-Patience Island (Zone 3) Special Deer Season for Disabled Hunters.
The taking of deer will be limited to paraplegic and double amputee hunters only.

2.2.1 A special hunting permit must be obtained through the DEM License
Division, 235 Promenade St. Providence, R1 02908 (401) 222-3576 by
each applicant prior to the hunt. None will be issued on the island. An
application signed by a physician for a first-time hunter, or a photocopy of
a previous paraplegic/double amputee hunting license, is required.

2.2.2  None of the hunter's assistants will be allowed to hunt or carry loaded
firearms at any time. No license is required of the assistants.

2.2.3  All deer taken must be checked as provided.

2.2.4 All deer wounded, but not recovered, must be reported to DEM within 24
hours.

2.2.5 Ammunition is limited to a single lead or alloy projectile, rifled slug or
sabot rounds in 10, 12, 16, or 20 gauge only. Buckshot is prohibited.
Hunters may use muzzleloader firearms on Prudence Island as defined
under Muzzleloader Deer Season.
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PART III
COOPERATIVE HUNTING PROGRAMS

3.1  NorthWest Cooperative: The Northwest Cooperative Deer Hunting permits
serve as written permission for hunting this private land during the open deer
seasons. These permits must be carried in addition to your individual deer
permits. Turkey hunting is also permitted on Northwest Cooperative with a valid
license and turkey permit. No additional Northwest permit is required for turkeys.

3.1.1 Deer hunters must have Special Permits to hunt the Northwest
Cooperative. A permit is required for each season: Archery, Muzzleloader,
and Shotgun. The Division reserves the right to alter the number of
hunters, permits, or days of hunting as conditions warrant. Permits must be
returned by the end of February. Hunters must return permit to be eligible
for the next season's permit.

3.1.2 Permits are available after September 1, and may be obtained by sending a
(LEGAL SIZE) self-addressed stamped envelope to: NORTHWEST
COOQP., R.1. Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West
Kingston, RI 02892. Indicate the permit type (e.g. archery, muzzleloader,
and/or shotgun).

3.2 TNC Deer Hunting Cooperative:

3.2.1 Francis Carter Preserve:

3.2.1.1 Is restricted to archery hunting of deer. No special permit required.
No hunting of any other species of wildlife is permitted.

3.2.1.2 No firearms are allowed on the property at any time. No vehicles
of any kind are allowed on the property.

3.2.1.3 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited.
The use of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is
prohibited. Climbing tree stands are permitted. Tree stands must be
removed at the end of the season.

3.2.2 Queens River Preserve:

3.2.2.1 Deer hunting only with archery equipment only. No special permit
required. No hunting of any other species of wildlife is permitted.

3.2.2.2 No firearms are allowed on the property at any time. No vehicles
of any kind are allowed on the property.
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3.2.2.3 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited.
The use of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is
prohibited. Climbing tree stands are permitted. Tree stands must be
removed at the end of the season.

3.2.3 Cuttyhunk Brook Preserve:

3.2.3.1 Deer hunting only with archery, muzzleloader and shotgun
permitted following Zone 2 regulations. No hunting of any other
species of wildlife is permitted.

3.2.3.2 No vehicles of any kind are allowed on the property.

3.2.3.3 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited.
The use of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is
prohibited. Climbing tree stands are permitted. Tree stands must be
removed at the end of the season.

3.2.4 Grass Pond Preserve:

3.2.4.1 Deer hunting only with archery, muzzleloader and shotgun
permitted following Zone 2 regulations. No hunting of any other
species of wildlife is permitted.

3.2.4.2 No vehicles of any kind are allowed on the property.

3.2.4.3 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited.
The use of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is
prohibited. Climbing tree stands are permitted. Tree stands must
be removed at the end of the season.

33 Beavertail Cooperative: Archery Only — November 3 to January 31, no hunting
on weekends prior to December 31. No hunting of any other species of wildlife is
permitted.

3.3.1 No firearms are allowed on the property at any time.

3.3.2 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited. The use
of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is prohibited.
Climbing tree stands are permitted and must be removed at the end of the
season.

3.3.3 Proficiency testing is required for all archery hunters on the Beavertail
Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area. The proficiency cards are valid
for two (2) years from the date of issuance and must be carried while
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3.4

3.5

hunting. Either Prudence/Patience Island or Hunter Ethics/Landowner
Relations proficiency cards are permitted.

3.3.4 A Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area Permit is required
and will serve as written permission to hunt this property. The permit can
be obtained in person at the Jamestown Police Station. This permit must
also be carried while hunting. Hunters must return their card regardless of
activity or success by February 15 in order to be eligible for next season.

3.3.5 Countersigned permission of the chief of police or his/her designee is
required. Archers must reserve to hunt on the official sign-in log at the
police station. Ten (10) hunters will be permitted per day on a first come
first served basis. Hunters may sign up for five (5) slots per week, no more
than twenty (20) days in advance. Unused slots must be cancelled.
Successful hunters must also cancel any reserved slots. Hunters will be
provided with a map, safety zone and parking restrictions. Compliance
with these and all other hunting regulations is required for future hunting
privileges on this parcel. The number of hunters and days of hunting are
subject to change.

Grills Preserve Cooperative: Hunting during the open season for deer and wild
turkey at the Grills Preserve-Westerly Land Trust Property located west of
Bowling Lane and Route 91 in Bradford, RI and the Grills Preserve II —
Hopkinton Land Trust located east of Route 91 in Hopkinton. Special permits to
hunt either Grills I and Grills I may be obtained from: RIDEM Fish and Wildlife.
Permits available after September 1st, and may be obtained by sending a self-
addressed (LEGAL SIZE) stamped envelope to: GRILLS PRESERVE COOP.,
R.I. Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston, RI
02892.

3.4.1 Hunting is permitted only during the archery and muzzleloader portion of
the deer season.

3.4.2 Turkey hunting is permitted in accordance with rules for the established
turkey seasons.

3.4.3 Hunting permits and hunting effort data are to be returned at the
conclusion of the spring turkey season.

Burlingame North Camp Hunting Area — North Camp Portion: Hunting for

deer or turkey by permit only available from the RI DEM Division of Fish and
Wildlife, Great Swamp Field Headquarters, 277 Great Neck Road, West
Kingston, R.I. 02892 by mail with a self-addressed stamped envelope. All other
deer hunting regulations apply.
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3.5.1 Hunting is allowed in designated areas only; obey all safety zones as
marked on map enclosed with permit.

3.5.2 The following are PROHIBITED: Hunting birds on or within 100 yards
of the shore of Watchaug Pond or Poquiant Brook as referenced in RIGL
20-14-8; and, Hunting birds in that portion of the park west of Watchaug
Pond, west of Poquiant Brook and south of Buckeye Brook Road as
referenced in RIGL 20-14-8.1.

3.6  Providence Water Supply Cooperative: Open for deer hunting only by special
permit within portions of the Scituate Reservoir Property (approximately 7000
acres). Permits will be available to hunters selected by lottery to participate in the
hunt. This hunt will follow season dates and bag limits for deer hunting during
archery, muzzleloader and shotgun seasons established by the DEM.

3.6.1 Hunters must abide by all State deer hunting seasons for Zone 1,
regulations and the additional requirements of this permit. The hunt may
be suspended at any time due to conditions at the exclusive determination
of the DEM and the Providence Water Supply Board.

3.6.2 Hunters selected by lottery will be allowed to designate one hunting
partner.

3.6.3 Eleven parcels will be open for deer hunting. Six parcels will participate
in the regular lottery and five parcels will be designated archery and
muzzleloader group-hunt areas. Applicants may only apply for one type
on the application. Details about the hunting program will be specified on
the DEM hunt application forms.

3.6.4 Hunters will be required to attend a pre-hunt meeting (to obtain maps and
specific instructions) and must possess a hunting license and a minimum
of two valid antlerless deer hunting tags at that meeting.

3.6.5 Hunters are required to have the written permit and a photo ID in their
possession at all times while hunting and are required to fill out a daily
hunting record log for the entire season. The hunting permit and daily
hunting record must be returned to DEM at the conclusion of the season
(by February 15).

3.6.6 Construction of permanent tree stands is prohibited; however, the use of
climbing, ladder or hang on stands that do not damage trees are allowed.
Tree stands must be removed immediately at the conclusion of the season.

3.6.7 No hunting for any other species or any other activities is permitted.
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3.6.8 Applications to hunt the cooperative are available online
(www.dem.ri.gov) or by sending a self-addressed stamped envelope to the
Great Swamp Field Headquarters, 277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston,
RI02892. Applications must be postmarked by August 15.

3.6.9 Failure to comply with any and all provisions of this cooperative hunting
season will result in the hunter being terminated from the program.
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PART IV
MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS

4.1 Mourning Doves -The open season for mourning doves is statewide:

4.1.1 Dates
4.1.1.1 September 13 to October 12;
4.1.1.2 October 18 to November 8;
4.1.1.3 December 17 to January 3

4.1.2 Shooting hours are:

4.1.1.1 First split: noon to sunset.
4.1.1.2 Second and third split: sunrise to sunset

4.1.3 Daily bag / possession limits: 12 / 36

4.2 Rails — The open season for rails is:
4.2.1 September 1 to November 9.

4.2.2 Daily bag / possession limits:

4.2.1.1 King & Clapper Rail — 1 / 3, singly or in aggregate
4.2.1.2 Sora & Virginia Rail — 3 / 9, singly or in aggregate
4.2.3 Shooting hours are 2 hour before sunrise until sunset

4.3 Common snipe: The open season for common snipe is:

4.3.1 September 1 to November 9

4.3.2 Daily/ possession limits: 5/ 15

4.3.3 Shooting hours are 2 hour before sunrise until sunset
44  Woodcock: The open season for woodcocks is:

4.4.1 October 18 to December 1.

4.4.2 Daily bag / possession limits: 3/9
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4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

4.4.3 Shooting hours are %2 hour before sunrise until sunset

Crows: The open season for crows is:

4.5.1 August 15 to October 5 — Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays only.
4.5.2 October 11 to November 29, inclusive.

4.5.3 December 12 to April 12 — Fridays, Saturday, and Sundays only.

4.5.4 Hunting hours for crows are half hour before sunrise to half hour after
sunset.

4.5.5 The season on Prudence Island, except for North Prudence Island
Management Area is January 4 to 31.

4.5.6 No daily bag or possession limit.

Non-toxic Shot Requirements: No person shall hunt, pursue, shoot or attempt to
take waterfowl, rails, or snipe within the State of Rhode Island, including
Narragansett Bay and its coastal waters, to the three mile limit, while possessing
shells loaded with any shot other than non-toxic shot (e.g., steel, bismuth-tin,
tungsten-iron, tungsten-polymer, tungsten-matrix, and tungsten-nickel-iron-shot)
and other shot as approved by USFWS. All shot larger than BB is prohibited,
including duplex loads containing shot larger than BB.

Allowed methods of taking and prohibited methods of taking migratory birds and
waterfowl, are the same as set forth in 50 CFR 20 (sub parts A through N) of the
U.S. Department of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service, made under the
provisions of an Act of Congress relating to migratory birds and waterfowl. A
Harvest Information Permit (HIP) permit is required for hunting all migratory
birds. HIP permits will be available at local vendors. Instructions and details will
be available prior to the seasons. In addition, hunters must purchase a federal and
state duck stamp to hunt waterfowl.

Canada Goose: The Special September season for Canada goose:

4.8.1 September 1-30

4.8.2 Daily bag limit is 15 / 45 in possession (subject to Federal approval).

4.8.3 Shooting hours are one half hour before sunrise to one half hour after
sunset for September Canada goose hunting only.
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4.8.4 A permit must be obtained from the RI Division of Fish and Wildlife prior
to hunting during the Special September Canada Goose Season by sending
a LEGAL SIZE self-addressed stamped envelope to: RI Division of Fish
and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston, RI 02892.

4.8.5 The hunting permit must be returned to the Division per date designated
on the permits regardless of hunting success. Hunters must return the
permit to be eligible for the 2015 September Goose Season to above
address.

4.9 Sea Ducks: The season for sea ducks (eider, long-tailed duck & scoter) is:
4.9.1 October 11 to January 25

4.9.2 Daily bag/ possession limits 5/ 15, no more than four (4) of which may
be eider, scoter, or long-tailed duck.
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PART V
UPLAND GAME

5.1 Legal shooting hours for all game birds and mammals will be sunrise to sunset,
except dove, turkey, migratory birds, coyote, deer, and raccoon, as otherwise
provided for. On Opening Day, legal shooting hours will be 7:00 AM to sunset
except for raccoon which may be hunted at night.

52 Red Fox, Gray Fox, Gray Squirrels, Cottontail Rabbits, and Snowshoe Hare open
season:

5.2.1 October 18 through the last day of February

5.2.2 Daily Bag Limits:

5.2.2.1 Cottontail Rabbits — Three (3)
5.2.2.2 Snowshoe Hare — one (1)
5.2.2.3 Gray Squirrels — Five (5)
5.2.2.4 There is no bag limit for fox.

5.2.3 Prudence Island:

5.2.3.1 November 1 to November 30
5.2.3.2 The North Prudence Island Management Area season is January 4 - 31.

5.2.3.3 South Prudence and Patience Management Areas closed to shotgun
small game hunting.

5.3 Bobwhite Quail, Ruffed Grouse and Ring-necked Pheasant open season:

5.3.1 Quail: October 18 — November 23.

5.3.2 Ring-necked Pheasant: October 18 — February 28
5.3.3  Junior Pheasant Season: October 11" and 12™
5.3.4 Ruffed Grouse: Season Closed

5.3.5 Daily Bag Limits

5.3.5.1 Ring-neck Pheasant: two (2) birds.
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5.4

5.5

5.3.5.2 Bobwhite Quail: three (3) birds.

5.3.6 Game Bird Permit: Hunters are required to purchase a Game Bird Permit
in order to hunt pheasants. Immediately upon harvesting a pheasant,
hunters must detach a tag from the permit and affix the pheasant tag to the
bird’s leg. Hunters may purchase multiple Game Bird Permits per season.

5.3.7 Prudence Island: November 1 to 30 — except that on North Prudence
Island Management Area the season is January 4 to 31.

5.3.8 New Shoreham:

5.3.8.1 Open season Ring-necked pheasants: November 26
December 17 and 24

5.3.8.2 Daily bag limit (2) male pheasants

Junior Pheasant Hunting Weekend: Pheasant hunting is permitted during the
special Junior Pheasant Hunting Weekend for those junior hunters in possession
of a valid Rhode Island Hunting License and a Game Bird Permit. Junior hunters
must be accompanied by at least (1) one qualified license adult, age 21 years or
older, who holds a valid Rhode Island hunting license. An adult may accompany
no more than two (2) junior hunters at one time. The accompanying adult is
prohibited from carrying a firearm and hunting pheasant. Hunting will only be
permitted at the Great Swamp Management Area in West Kingston, Durfee Hill
Management Area in Glocester, and Eight Rod Farm Wildlife Management Area
in Tiverton. Bag limit is (2) two pheasants per day. Registration is required.
Adults may call Fish & Wildlife Field Headquarters at 789-0281 or Hunter
Education at 539-0019 for information. A limit of 50 parties per management area
will be permitted. In the event of fiscal constraints, the program may be altered.

No person or club shall possess a live, artificially propagated pheasant without
having a valid game propagation permit in possession.

5.5.1 Each artificially propagated pheasant must be tagged immediately upon
harvest for identification with a game propagation tag supplied by the
Division, at cost to the game propagation permittee.

5.5.2 Permits for propagated pheasant hunting are available from the Division of
Licensing, Room 360, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908. Such
permit shall be issued upon a demonstration that the applicant has met
each of the following:

5.5.2.1 Payment of five dollars ($5.00) permit fee
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5.5.2.2 Presentation of proof that the applicant is a bonafide hunting club
at the time of the application or application of renewal.

5.5.2.3 Presentation of proof that the applicant is a bonafide hunting club
owning a single body of land consisting of twenty-five (25) or
more acres at the time of the application or application of renewal.
(hereinafter referred to as the ‘site’)

5.5.2.4 Each game propagation permittee must keep an accurate record of
all pheasants held by it; how, when, and where acquired; how
many released and when released; and how many taken on the site.
Permittee must provide this information to the Department within
twenty-four (24) hours of the receipt of a request for such records
from a Department staff member or no later than March 15th
following the closure of the season.

5.5.2.5 Each game propagation permittee is authorized to release and
harvest pheasants upon its site during the pheasant hunting season
provided above for the taking on the site by club members and
their guests provided the following restrictions are observed.
Pheasants may only be taken by hunters with a valid Rhode Island
hunting license. Hunters are not required to have a state pheasant
permit; however, hunters must tag each harvested pheasant with
the game propagation tag.

5.5.2.6 Hunters may not exceed the daily bag limit for pheasant provided
herein: no more than two (2) birds may be harvested on the site
during any day per hunter.

5.5.2.7 If a game propagation permittee is found to have provided false
information in conjunction with its application, fails to comply
with any provision or if it or a member or guest violates any
provision, the permit shall be revoked for the remainder of the
season and the action of the permittee or its member shall be
considered if and when the permittee applies for re-issuance of a
permit. Pursuant to RI Gen. Laws, Chapter 42-17.7, a permittee
who feels aggrieved by an enforcement action to revoke the
subject’s permit and who seeks an adjudicative hearing must seek
such hearing by filing a written request with the Administrative
Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of notice of revocation.
A permittee who feels aggrieved by a permit denial and seeks an
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Adjudicative hearing must seek such hearing by filing a written
request with the Administrative Adjudication Division, 235
Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908 within thirty (30) calendar
days of receipt of the contested agency action.

5.6 The hunting seasons on woodchucks, crows, English sparrows, starlings, and rock
doves is open on Prudence Island November 1 through November 30. South
Prudence and Patience Management Areas are closed to shotgun small game
hunting.

5.7 Methods of Take for small game hunting include a rimfire rifle not larger than .22
caliber, shotgun, bow and arrow, muzzleloader, crossbow and air rifle.

5.7.1 Hunters may use shotgun with lead shot (not larger than No. 2) and a
rimfire rifle cartridge not larger than .22 caliber, shotgun, bow and arrow,
muzzleloader, and air rifle.

5.7.2 A muzzleloader, not to exceed .40 caliber, may be used to hunt small
mammals during the established season for these species.

5.7.3 Air gun rifles are permitted to hunt the following small mammals: gray
squirrels, red squirrels, woodchucks, cottontail rabbits, and snowshoe hare
provided that the air guns are a minimum of .177 caliber and not large
than .22; a minimum of 750 FPS velocity with pellets 7.5 grain or larger.

5.7.4 Hunters may use archery equipment for small game hunting meeting the
minimum draw weight required for deer hunting with arrows tipped with
small game blunts or judo points, but specifically not use broadhead or
field point arrows, hunters may use broadhead tipped arrows for hunting
coyote only during the archery deer season when in possession of a valid
archery deer tag. Hunters may carry one blunt or judo tipped arrow during
the archery deer season for the purpose of taking small game during the
open portion of the small game season.

5.7.5 Hunters may use crossbow to take small game mammals; however, no
birds may be taken with a crossbow.
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6.1

6.2

6.3

6.4

PART VI
WILD TURKEY

Turkey Seasons Dates:

6.1.1 Special Gobbler Season — Paraplegic hunters: April 25 and 26
6.1.2  Junior hunter Turkey Hunting Weekend: April 25 and 26
6.1.3 Statewide Spring gobbler season: April 29 — May 24

6.1.4 Fall archery season: October 1 — October 31

Season bag and possession limits:

6.2.1 One (1) bearded turkey in the spring season
6.2.2  One (1) either sex turkey in the fall season.
6.2.3 A separate permit must be purchased to hunt in each season.

Special Paraplegic Season:

6.3.1 A special turkey permit must be obtained from the DEM
6.3.2 Hunting in this season will be limited to paraplegic hunters only.

6.3.3 An application signed by a physician for a first-time hunter is required.
Applications are obtained from DEM Division of Licensing.

6.3.4 None of the hunter’s assistants will be allowed to hunt or carry firearms at
any time.

Junior Turkey Hunting Weekend:

6.4.1 Wild turkey hunting is permitted during the Junior Turkey Hunting
Weekend for those junior hunters, (ages 12-14), in possession of a valid
Rhode Island hunting license. Junior hunters must be accompanied by at
least one qualified license adult at least 21 years of age or older who holds
a valid Rhode Island hunting/archery license. An adult may accompany no
more than two junior hunters at one time. The accompanying adult is
prohibited from carrying firearms and bows but is permitted to assist the
junior in calling the bird.

6.4.2 Bag limit is one (1) bearded turkey per license per year.

Hunting Regulations for the 2014 - 2015 Season 28 0of 42



6.5

6.6

6.7

6.8

6.9

6.10

The Division reserves the right to alter the number of permits and the number of
hunting days at any time.

The hunting of wild turkey is allowed statewide.

Hunting hours: Spring hunting hours are one half hour before sunrise to 1:00 PM
Eastern Daylight Time. All hunters must leave the woods no later than 1:00 PM.
Fall hunting hours are one-half hour before sunrise until sunset.

Authorized firearms and archery equipment: The methods of taking are limited to
shotguns, gauges 10, 12, 16, and 20 only, with shot sizes 4, 5, and 6 magnum
loads only; and by archery equipment consisting of a long bow (straight limb,
reflex, re-curve, and compound bow) of not less than forty (40) pounds pull, and
broadhead arrows with at least two cutting edges seven eighths inches (7/8") or
greater at the widest point. A bowstring release device where the bow is hand
held, hand drawn and finger released is allowed. Legal bows must meet the
definition of a legal bow as defined in these regulations. Crossbows are not
permitted for turkey hunting. Possession of a firearm while archery hunting for
turkey is prohibited.

Prohibited Activities:

6.9.1 The use of any other firearm, live decoy(s), baiting, cooperative drive(s)
electric calling devices or any other devices to capture or ensnare turkeys
is prohibited.

6.9.2 Stalking or attempting to sneak up on a turkey to get a shot is prohibited.

6.9.3 Hunters are prohibited from hunting unless they are carrying a turkey
calling device (non-electric). Calling is the only legal method for hunting
wild turkey. An individual with a valid Rhode Island hunting license may
call turkeys for hunters with a valid turkey permit.

6.9.4 No person shall hunt, pursue, shoot, attempt to shoot, or possess any wild
turkey unless they possess on their person a valid R.1. hunting license and
a valid turkey hunting permit.

6.9.5 The shooting of any wild turkey while on the roost is prohibited.

Checking Requirements: A person killing a wild turkey must immediately sign,
complete and attach to the leg in a conspicuous manner the turkey tag provided
with the permit. The tag must remain attached to the turkey and the kill reported
to DEM within 24 hours of taking by the pre-paid Turkey Season Kill Report
Card, as prescribed by DEM. The Division retains the right to sample any and all
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tissues deemed necessary. The turkey tag must remain attached until the carcass is
prepared for consumption or taxidermy.

6.11 A mandatory hunter survey card will be issued to each person purchasing a turkey
permit. This hunter survey must be returned to the Division within ten (10) days
of the end of the season whether or not you hunt or were successful.
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7.1

7.2

7.3

PART VII
FURBEARERS

Furbearers as listed by RIGL 20-16-1.

Raccoon -
Open season - The open season for raccoon hunting is from 6:00 PM October 1
through the last day in February, inclusive.

Bag Limits - There is no season limit on raccoon. There are no limits to the
taking of raccoon by bow hunters as provided above, or under special permit on
Prudence and Patience Islands. There is no bag limit.

7.2.1 In the Town of Portsmouth on Prudence Island, the season is limited to
January 3 through the last day of February, inclusive, with written
permission of the landowner. Bow hunters with a valid deer archery
permit may take a raccoon on Prudence Island during legal deer hunting
hours October 18— January 31.

7.2.2 Raccoons may be taken and possessed with the use of a gun, when the
taker is accompanied by a dog. No person shall hunt raccoons at night by
the use of rifle larger than a twenty-two (22) caliber rim fire long rifle or
by the use of shotgun shells carrying shot larger than number four (no. 4)
shot or by the use of a light other than a kerosene lantern exclusive of the
pressure type or a flashlight with more than six (6) cells. No person shall
take or attempt to take raccoons by use of a light from a motor vehicle.

The trapping season for gray fox, red fox, mink, muskrat, opossum, rabbit,
raccoon, skunk, and weasels is November 1 — January 31 inclusive. Traps may
not be set, staked, or placed prior to 8:00 AM on opening day, November 1,
annually.

7.3.1 The trapping season for beaver on private land is November 1— March 14,
inclusive. The trapping season for beaver on state management areas is
December 1 — February 28 inclusive. Traps may not be set, staked, or
placed prior to 8:00 AM on opening day. Setting traps within ten (10) feet
of a beaver lodge/bank den is prohibited, unless specifically allowed under
a nuisance permit. All trappers participating in beaver trapping must first
obtain both a Special Permit (no fee) issued by the Division of Fish and
Wildlife Field Headquarters as well as a current RI Trapping License.
There is a bag limit of twenty (20) beaver.

7.3.2 The trapping season for fisher (Martes pennanti) is December 1-24,
inclusive. All trappers participating in the fisher trapping season must
obtain a special permit (no fee) from the Division of Fish and Wildlife,
Great Swamp Field Headquarters in addition to their current R.1. trapping
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7.4

7.5

license. The season limit for fisher is four (4) per permit. All fisher pelts
must be presented for tagging, in accordance with fisher permit
requirements but no later than December 31. In addition, all fisher
carcasses or any part thereof, as determined by the Division, must be
turned in to the RI Division of Fish and Wildlife, Great Swamp Field
Headquarters. No fisher pelts will be tagged without the submission of the
carcass or required parts to Fish and Wildlife. A trapper survey card will
be issued to each permittee and must be returned to the Division at the
close of fisher season. The Division of Fish and Wildlife reserves the
right to alter the number of permits or the number of fisher harvested at
any time. All other general trapping regulations apply. All permittees
may be subject to administrative penalties of up to $1,000.00 for violation
of any of these regulations pursuant to RIGL Chapter 42-17.6.

7.3.3  There is no closed season for trapping coyotes on private lands. The
trapping season for coyotes on state lands is November 1 to January 31
inclusive. The use of foothold traps (RIGL 20-16-8) or snares (RIGL 20-
16-6) is prohibited. All other general trapping regulations apply.

Body gripping (“e.g. Conibear”) type traps with a jaw spread up to but not
exceeding 6" inches as measured from hinge to hinge, are permitted on land or
in water. Body gripping traps with a jaw spread larger than 6% inches but not
exceeding 8 inches are permitted only if the trap is completely submerged in
water in a vertical position, or placed at least six (6) feet above the surface of
water or ground (i.e., pole or tree sets). All other body-gripping type traps with a
jaw spread exceeding 8 inches are prohibited.

7.4.1 For the taking of beaver, the use of body-gripping (“e.g. Conibear”) type
traps are with a jaw spread up to but not exceeding 10 inches as measured
from hinge to hinge is permitted. Such traps must be set completely
submerged underwater and in a vertical position.

A permit to trap state management area lands is required in addition to a current
Rhode Island trapping license, and may be obtained from the Division of Fish and
Wildlife Field Headquarters, Great Swamp Management Area, 277 Great Neck
Road, West Kingston, RI. The use of body-gripping (“e.g. Conibear”) type traps
or “box” (i.e., live) traps are permitted on state lands as specified. Body-gripping
traps, with a jaw spread up to but not exceeding 6’2 inches as measured from
hinge to hinge are permitted only if such traps are used in sets where all or a
portion of the trap is in contact with or submerged in water or placed no less than
six (6) feet above the surface of the ground. The use of body gripping traps with a
jaw spread exceeding 6’2 inches but not more than ten (10) inches are only
permitted if such traps are set completely submerged in water in a vertical
position.
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7.6

7.7

7.8

7.9

All traps must have the valid license number of the trapper embedded or cut into
the trap, or a metal tag attached to the trap which, as a minimum, bears the
trapper’s license number as designated in RIGL 20-16-7.

There is no open season on bobcat (Lynx rufus) or otter (Lontra canadensis).

Possession, at any time, of a pelt or carcass of an otter, fisher, bobcat, or beaver
that has not been tagged by an approved state or federal agency is prima-facie
evidence of illegal taking. Otter or bobcat taken under RIGL 20-16-2, RIGL 20-
16-8 or otherwise, shall not be tagged for personal use or ownership and must be
presented to the Division of Fish and Wildlife or the Division of Law
Enforcement within 24 hours of taking. Beaver and fishers must be tagged.

There is no closed season for woodchuck, red squirrel or coyote on private lands.
The legal hunting hours for woodchucks and coyotes is one-half hour before
sunrise to one-half hour after sunset. The use of electronic calls or decoys for
hunting coyotes is permitted. There is no bag limit on woodchuck or coyote.
Refer to RIGL 20-13-13 for firearms restrictions.

7.9.1 The hunting season for coyotes on state lands shall be from the beginning
of dove hunting season in September to the last day in February inclusive
and during the open spring turkey hunting season. The hunting season for
coyotes on Prudence Island shall be: on state land during archery season
with a valid archery permit, during the upland game season on private
land, November 1 — November 30 and on North Prudence Management
Area during upland season, January 1 — January 31.

7.9.2 During the spring turkey season, coyote hunters must possess a valid
turkey hunting permit while hunting on state lands.

7.9.3 Coyote hunters on state lands must wear a minimum of 200 square inches
of fluorescent orange during the small game hunting season. During the
shotgun deer season, 500 square inches is required.

7.9.4 The placement or use of carcasses or meat parts thereof is allowed on
private property for the purposes of hunting coyotes. The placement or use
of carcasses or meat parts thereof is prohibited for purposes of hunting
coyotes on state lands.

7.9.5 Legal methods of take for coyote hunting include shotgun (no lead shot
larger than No. 2) and rimfire rifle not larger than .22 caliber at any time,
bow and arrow and crossbow; however, on private lands from April 1 to
September 30, (both dates inclusive), centerfire rifles not larger than .229
caliber may be used (RIGL 20-13-13), and by any means allowed during
any concurrent hunting season.
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7.10 It is unlawful to take or possess a road-kill furbearer (RIGL 20-16-1) unless with
possession of a current Rhode Island trapping license and the furbearer is taken
during the open season for the species, or as provided for under the provisions of
a current Rhode Island Scientific Collector’s Permit (RIGL 20-1-18). Exceptions
may be granted at the discretion of the Division.

7.11  The translocation of protected furbearers (RIGL 20-16-1) is prohibited without
prior written approval of the Division of Fish and Wildlife.

7.12  The use of “species specific” type traps as described in the definitions section of
these regulations is permitted for trapping furbearers on private and state lands. A
legal species specific trap is characterized by all of the following:

7.12.1 Triggering and restraining mechanisms are enclosed within a housing.

7.12.2 Triggering and restraining mechanisms are only accessible through a
single opening when set;

7.12.3 The access opening does not exceed two inches in diameter;
7.12.4 The triggering mechanism can only be activated by a pulling force.

7.12.5 A swivel mounted anchoring system.

Hunting Regulations for the 2014 - 2015 Season 34 of 42



PART VIII
REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS

8.1 The removal from the wild, for any purpose, of any reptile or amphibian (except
bullfrogs, green frogs, and snapping turtles) to include their nests and eggs is
prohibited except by special permit. The taking of snapping turtles at any time is
limited to turtles with a minimum carapace length of 12 inches and by the
following methods: Turtle traps, snagging, snaring, grabbing, jugging, bow and
arrow, or while legally fishing. Turtle traps must have a metal tag attached,
which, at a minimum, bears the trapper’s name and address. Jugs must be marked
indelibly with name and address of trapper. The taking of snapping turtles for
commercial purposes is prohibited except by special permit.

8.2  The following species of reptiles and amphibians to include their nests and eggs
are protected and possession without permit is prohibited at all times: Timber
rattlesnake, Crotalus horridus; northern diamondback terrapin, Malaclemys
terrapin; wood turtle, Clemmys insculpta; eastern box turtle, Terrapene Carolina;
spotted turtle, Clemmys guttata; and bog turtle, Clemmys muhlenbergi.

8.3  The release into the wild of any non-native reptile or amphibian is prohibited.
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9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

PART IX
MANAGEMENT AREAS

The possession of a valid Rhode Island hunting, or combination hunting and
fishing license, serves as the permit to hunt State Management Areas, and Tidal
Lands pursuant to Title 20, Chapter 18, §§20-18-2 and 20-18-3 of the RI General
Laws.

Permit is valid from the first day of dove season in September through the last day
of February, except when check stations are in operation for upland game at the
Great Swamp, Carolina, Durfee Hill, and Arcadia; for turkey hunting; when
special permits are required for deer hunting; or for waterfowl hunting on state
lands. (See current abstract for check station dates). Bow hunters and
muzzleloading hunters hunting deer on state management areas do not need to
check in or out.

9.2.1 In the event of fiscal constraints, check station hours of operation are
subject to change. Notification will be provided by signage and news
release. In addition, management areas may be closed for pheasant
stocking at noon until sunset, Friday, October 17; Tuesdays and Fridays
from October 24 until November 15; Wednesday, November 19; and
Fridays in December.

The carrying of firearms on state management areas at any other time is
prohibited except as provided in Management Area Regulations. On management
areas and designated undeveloped parks, the carrying of firearms and bows and
arrows at any time, except during the open season for game birds and mammals,
and while on shooting ranges, is prohibited. In addition to above, blank guns are
permitted for the purpose of dog training in designated areas from January 1 to
September 30.

Individuals must check in, and out, of state management hunter check stations
each day they are open for upland season. Check station dates will be listed in the
current Hunting Season Abstract.

From the period April 1 through August 15, annually, the following are prohibited
except by special permit: trespassing, disturbing, or molesting of any species of
nesting birds on Hope Island in West Passage, East Island and West Island off
Sakonnet Point, or Gould Island in the East Passage. All cats, dogs, and other
domestic animals are prohibited at all times upon these Islands, except that
hunting dogs may be used during that period set aside by the Department of
hunting game birds and mammals on Hope Island only.

All users of State Management Areas and undeveloped State Parks are required to
wear solid daylight fluorescent orange during appropriate seasons.
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9.7  The possession and/or use of paint guns on state management areas are
prohibited. See RIGL § 32-2-4.

9.8 A hunting license is required when training dogs on wild game on state
management areas, except when participating in state-sanctioned field trials.

9.9  Complete dressing of game birds and mammals on state property is prohibited.
Field dressing (removal of entrails only) is permitted. Head, skin, feathers, wings,
tails, etc., must remain attached to the carcass.

9.10 Dogs on State Management Areas allowed only under the following rules.

9.10.1 No dogs are allowed to be trained, run, exercised, or be permitted to run
at large on state management areas from March 15 to August 15,
inclusive, without written permission of the Division of Fish and
Wildlife except as otherwise provided in these regulations.

9.10.2 Walking of dogs on a leash of not more than 25 feet in length is
permitted on roads and trails only.

9.10.3  All dogs must be wearing a collar with the name and address of the
owner or handler and license tag.

9.11 Dog Training Areas — Dog training is allowed on designated areas only, between
January 1 and September 30. During this period, dogs may run freely provided
they are under the command of the trainer by voice, training collar, or check cord.

9.11.1  Areas designated for training dogs are: the Black Farm Management
Area, the Nicholas Farm Management Area north of the Trestle Trail;
and the Arcadia Midway Trail Area confined to the developed field
complex east of Brook Trail, south of Austin Farm Road and west of the
established field edges comprising the Midway fields area. Field trail
areas are as depicted on maps drawn by the Division of Fish and
Wildlife.

9.11.2  Training hours are sunrise to sunset.
9.11.3  All persons using areas for training must possess a hunting license.

9.11.4  All dogs using areas must be licensed and have proof of rabies
vaccinations.

9.11.5 Training with live birds (pheasants/quail) is permitted provided the bird
is released unharmed and all necessary permits are obtained.

9.11.6  Shooting of live birds for training purposes is prohibited.
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9.11.7 Sanctioned field trial events may be held at the following locations by
requesting a special permit from the Division of Fish and Wildlife:
Arcadia, Carolina, Durfee Hill Marsh, and Burlingame (Durfee) Pond,
and Nicholas Farm.

9.12  JOHN L. CURRAN STATE PARK/MANAGEMENT AREA:

9.12.1  All hunting must be within the inner boundaries of the buffer zones
marked as posted by the Department.

9.12.2  Only shotguns and bow & arrows may be possessed or used while
hunting.

9.12.3  The hunting of and/or possession of Mourning Dove or Wild Pigeons
(Rock Dove) is prohibited.

9.13 SIMMONS MILL POND MANAGEMENT AREA: Deer hunting using archery,
muzzleloader and shotgun is permitted within the Simmons Mill Pond
Management Area in Little Compton. Sunday hunting will be allowed.

9.14 DUTCH ISLAND:
The entry upon Dutch Island is prohibited. No person is allowed to enter onto
Dutch Island without the specific written permission of the Director.

9.15 SAPOWET and EIGHT ROD FARM MANAGEMENT AREA:
Sunday hunting is allowed within the Sapowet Marsh and Eight Rod Farm
Management Area. No shotgun and/or muzzleloader deer hunting on Sapowet.

9.16 GEORGE WASHINGTON GROVE: Designated as an undeveloped state park
and is open to hunting.

9.17 GALILEE BIRD SANCTUARY: Open to archery deer hunting only.

9.18 Snake Den State Park: Designated as an undeveloped State Park and is open for
Archery Deer Hunting. All hunting must be within the inner boundaries of the
buffer zones marked as posted by the Department.

9.19 NINIGRET CONSERVATION AREA / EAST BEACH: Designated as an
undeveloped State Park and is open for hunting small game and Archery Deer
Hunting only.

9.20 COCUMCUSSOC PARK: Designated as an undeveloped State Park and is open
to hunting deer, turkey and small game.
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10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

PART X
GENERAL

Taking of moose or bear by any method is prohibited except as provided under
special permit issued by the Director of the Department of Environmental
Management.

The importation, exportation, possession, liberation, rehabilitation or sale, offer
for sale, barter, or offer for barter of mute swans and their eggs is prohibited,
except by special permit issued by the Director of the Department of
Environmental Management or his/her designee.

The importation, exportation, possession, liberation, or sale, offer for sale, barter,
or offer for barter of any live or pen-reared wild turkey or eggs of a wild turkey
is prohibited. The possession of any dead untagged wild turkey is prohibited.

WANTON WASTE - No person shall kill or cripple any game species pursuant
to these regulations without making a reasonable effort to retrieve the animal, and
retain it in his/her actual custody.

There is no closed season for monk parakeets or rock doves (wild pigeons).

Fluorescent Orange Requirement: Fluorescent orange safety clothing is required
during the hunting season statewide for all hunters. To meet this requirement,
safety clothing must be solid daylight fluorescent orange. Fluorescent
camouflage does not meet this requirement. The hunter orange must be worn
above the waist and be visible in all directions. Examples that meet the orange
requirements are a hat that covers 200 square inches or combination of hat and
vest covering 500 square inches. The following orange requirements apply:

10.6.1 Two hundred (200) square inches by small game hunters during the small
game season.

10.6.2 Two hundred (200) square inches by fall turkey hunters while traveling.

10.6.3 Two hundred (200) square inches by muzzleloaders during muzzleloading
deer season.

10.6.4 Two hundred (200) square inches by archers when traveling to/from
stands during muzzleloading deer season.

10.6.5 Five hundred (500) square inches by all hunters and other users (including
archers) during shotgun deer seasons.
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10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.6.6 Those hunters using Pop-up blinds during the firearms deer season must
display 200 square inches of fluorescent orange visible on the outside of
the blind from all directions. Hunters must also wear orange in
accordance with the rules for the specific seasons while in the blind.

10.6.7 Exempt from fluorescent orange requirements are:

- Waterfowl hunters hunting from a boat or blind, over water or field,
when done in conjunction with decoys.

- Archery deer hunters (except during muzzleloader and shotgun deer
season).

- Hunters crow hunting over decoys.

- Spring turkey hunters and

- First segment dove hunters.

- Not required in areas limited to Archery only by regulation.

10.6.8 All other users of State Management areas and designated undeveloped
State Parks, including but not limited to: hikers, bikers, and horseback
riders, are required to wear two hundred (200) square inches of solid
daylight fluorescent orange from the second Saturday in September to the
last day of February, and the third Saturday in April to the last day in May,
annually.

All dogs being utilized in hunting or training activities must wear a collar bearing
the name and address of the owner and handler and must possess a valid dog
license and tag.

Waterfowl hunting is permitted no more than 10 feet above mean high water on
Prudence Island, except during the early waterfowl season, as established by
federal regulation and during November 1 — 30.

Shooting at any animal at any time, while such animal is on a telephone line, pole,
or tower, or electric line, pole, or tower, or any communication device is
prohibited.

It is prohibited to import or possess game birds for the purpose of liberation or
stocking of said game bird into the State of Rhode Island without first having
received a permit to do so from the Division of Fish and Wildlife. Persons
holding a commercial game license or shooting preserve license may liberate
game birds or mammals in connection with field trials and shooting preserves (see
RIGL 20-2-16.1, 20-2-29, and 20-17-1).

Feeding and baiting wildlife in the state of Rhode Island is not permitted at any
time for any purposes except:

10.11.1 Under a license or permit issued by the Department pursuant to RI
General Laws §20-1-18 for bona fide scientific research;
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10.12

10.13

10.11.2

10.11.3

10.11.4

10.11.5

10.11.6

10.11.7

10.11.8

By planting, cultivating, or harvesting of crops directly associated with
bona fide agricultural practices, including planted wildlife food plots;

By distribution of food material for livestock directly associated with
bona fide agricultural practices; by distribution of food material for
legally possessed captive wildlife, pursuant to a permit;

By cutting of trees or brush; or

Elevated bird/squirrel feeders providing seed, grain, fruit, worms or suet
for birds or squirrels located within 100 feet of an occupied dwelling.

Baiting coyotes on private land for purposes of hunting.

The leaving out of food of any kind where accessible to wildlife is
prohibited.

For baiting of furbearers as associated with legal trapping activities in
accordance with Part VII of these regulations.

Distribution of Certain Food Material — Feeding wild or captive cervids with any
material that contains protein derived from any mammalian tissues is prohibited.

It is unlawful to carry a loaded weapon outside legal shooting hours. Provided the
hunter is stationary, his/her weapon may be loaded within fifteen (15) minutes
prior to legal shooting hours.
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RULES8 EFFECTIVE DATE

The foregoing Rules and Regulations — Hunting Regulations after due notice, are
hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State to become effective 20 days
after filing, in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 20-1-2, 20-1-4, 20-1-8,
20-1-12, 20-1-13, 20-18 and 42-35 of the General Laws of Rhode Island of 1956,
as amended.

Janet L. Coit, Director
Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management

Notice Given: 4/28/14
Public Hearing: 06/03/14

Filing Date: 08/01/2014
Effective Date: 08/21/2014

ERLID #: 7761
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