Minutes Bike Path Design Committee Town Hall – Wednesday, December 3, 2008

I.. Call to Order.

Robert Sutton called the meeting to order at 3:33pm.

II Roll Call

The following voting members were present:

Robert Sutton, David Burnell, Susan Plowden, Julie Kallfelz, Nancy Logan, Lisa Bryer

Non-voting member attending: Bruce Keiser (Town Administrator)

Absent were Lambri Zerva (RI DOT) and Kate Smith

Also attending was Justin Jobin (Environmental scientist for the town)

III. Reading and Approval of Minutes.

The Minutes of the November 5, 2008 meeting were approved unanimously.

IV. Final Discussion of DRAFT Purpose and Need Statement and approval of final Statement.

There were several minor changes suggested by Committee members. . Nancy Logan moved to approve the final statement. David Burnell seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously. Nancy Logan will send a copy of the revised Purpose and Need Statement to the Town Council (via Arlene Petit).

V. Discussion of North Road Alternatives, Review of Existing Conditions, Plans, Photographs, etc. Weeden Lane to Arnold Avenue.

The committee discussed at length a tentative bike path between Route 138 and the water plant, using detailed maps prepared by Justin Jobin. It will probably be necessary to cross the road at the water plant. An important consideration will be to alert traffic to slow down at the bike path crossing.

Water plant to Westwind drive. A boardwalk on the west side of the creek was discussed. Width of this boardwalk will be 10-11 feet. Interest was expressed in not blocking the view or public access to the creek. The school bikeway would continue on Westwind to the schools. The main bikeway would continue into town on a widened North Road.

Members of the committee contributed their ideas to the discussion. More information is needed before a vote will be taken.

VI. Other business. The next meeting of the Bike Path Design Committee will be held Wednesday, January 7, 2009 at 3:30pm in the Town Hall.

VII. Meeting was adjourned at 5:00 pm.

Respectfully submitted

Nancy A. Logan, Recording Secretary.

.